SWANSONG: FREE by Angel Brynner [for Exile & others]

i have no song to give you

‘cept what is roaring thru my head;

whatever i meant to you

looks as if its already dead;

so who am i to turn to?

why keep returning to my bed?

i know that i will miss you

but i’ll no longer be misled-

BY you,

and all that you decide

you dont have to

do

NOt misled,

BY you,

and all i’ve thought

i felt you walk me through,

its true-

it was not you

***

it’s been a long time coming,

so long did not expect to see-

and after all this running,

you still expected me to be-

in spite of nothing done then,

i only bless you to be free,

Was never me AND you then,

so i’ll no longer be misled-

BY you,

inaction cancels what

God said you’d do,

it’s true-

nor misled-

BY me

and all the pretty things

i thought this’d be,

i see-

it was only me…

***

[bridge 3x]

there’s no repentance;

there’s no pain;

i had to walk this road again;

the only way to see i’d changed;

and now i know i’m not the same;

there’s no repentance;

there’s no pain;

i had to walk this road again;

the only way to see i’d changed;

and now i know i’m not the same;

there’s no repentance;

there’s no pain;

i had to walk this road again;

the only way to see i’d changed;

and now i know i’m not the same;

***

And in the end i thank you,

and i mean that sincerely,

because in HOW i loved you,

i saw my own capacity,

you wanted none to do with,

the Love that God had stored in me,

so i am finally through with,

and i can no longer be led-

BY you

to see beyond the things

he walked you through,

it’s true-

and not misled-

BY me

and i will i fight against

what is angry i’m free

i can finally see…

***

[pause]

…and i wish only love too,

true love for you

true love for me

that wont be blinded by you,

that wont be terrified of me,

all’s full of love-it sure is

there’s other fish, & other seas

here’s hope for all the purest

love meant for you and yes for…me.

(c) Angel Brynner 2012 KOKOPELLIMA PRESS

Leave a Reply

