WORKING THE ROSTER/6. 26JUNE2014.

HOMEMADE SEAWEED SALAD and SHRIMP& NOODLE SOUP.

Seaweed salad is something that I can say I’ve spent upwards of at least a grand on in my adult life, in various countries, towns, villages. Going commando with it and trying to re-create it myself was nothing but Jesus. In fact, when I got the wakame, I wasn’t even Thinking seaweed salad, I was thinking “natural source of iodine” & “I miss the iodine in the air at the beach.” AKA replenishment. But it is too simple to make to not try.

SEAWEED SALAD: ALLOW DRIED WAKAME [THE SEAWEED THAT LOOKS LIKE HAIR] UNFURL IN COLD WATER FOR A GOOD TEN MINUTES. MEANWHILE, MIX ACV,OLIVE OIL AND SOY SAUCE IN A BOWL WITH A LITTLE MINCED GARLIC. DICE UP SOME RAW RADISHES[OR ANY OTHER GARNISH YOU’D LIKE: SCALLIONS,ETC] & TOSS THEM IN THE DRESSING. DRAIN THE SEAWEED. KEEP 1/2 A CUP OF THE WATER.TOSS THE SEAWEED IN THE DRESSING, CHILL & EAT.

As for the SHRIMP NOODLE SOUP: I started by heating up some water and adding Chinese egg noodles to it, throwing in local dried shrimp and bok choy to simmer with basil & garlic. I pulled that out, drained it and set it aside as the broth continued to cook, adding fresh shrimp, soy sauce, acv, olive oil and the 1/2 cup of seaweed water retained from the wakame unfurling.

Then I pulled out my trusty chopsticks that have seen the world with me and devoured it all watching Seven Psychopaths, screaming at the screen…I was hungry two hours later. But it was all really good. The splice of the two kinds of shrimp really got me going.

And I may never order seaweed salad out again.

Leave a Reply

